Insights and Analysis

Sask Party Veterans Exit Politics

Late yesterday, the Saskatchewan Party announced four veteran cabinet ministers/MLAs would not be running in the October 2024 provincial election. The four individuals are:

  • Deputy Premier and Finance Minister, Hon. Donna Harpauer
  • Minister of Government Relations, Hon. Don McMorris
  • Minister Responsible for Crown Investments Corporation, Hon. Dustin Duncan
  • Minister of Advanced Education, Hon. Gordon Wyant

Harpauer and McMorris were first elected in 1999 and are part of the group of long-serving cabinet ministers who made up the first Saskatchewan Party cabinet in 2007. Duncan was elected in 2006 and was appointed to cabinet in 2009, while Wyant was first elected in 2010 and subsequently appointed to cabinet in 2012. Both Duncan and Wyant led a number of key portfolios during their time in government.

Premier Scott Moe thanked the four individuals for their hard work, service and commitment to their constituents and their province: “That’s over 80 years of combined political experience and service to the people of Saskatchewan, and that’s not easy to replace. But at the same time, every government and every party needs renewal, and I respect the decision that Donna, Don, Dustin, and Gord all made – that it’s time for renewal in their constituencies and for a new chapter in each of their lives.”

The announcement made no mention of potential changes to cabinet roles as a result of the departures. The Premier now has to decide whether to leave the four MLAs in cabinet until the next election or do a shuffle and give other caucus members the visibility and experience that comes from being a minister.

Next up, the spring session of the Saskatchewan Legislature will begin on March 4th followed by the Budget address on March 20th.

The Saskatchewan Party currently has 37 candidates nominated for the upcoming election scheduled for October 28th, 2024.

Related Links

We’re Here to Help

For more information and insights about what these developments mean for the political landscape in Saskatchewan, please reach out to our experts:

Darin Banadyga – Senior Strategy Advisor

Theo Bryson – Senior Strategy Advisor
Kevin Doherty – Vice President
Tom Lukiwski – Senior Strategy Advisor
Bronte Prosser – Strategy Advisor

To learn more about Prairie Sky Strategy, please visit our website.





Choose the month below:

Recent news

Join Our Mailing List

Get the latest Prairie Politics news, webinar notifications and more.

Follow Us

© 2021 Prairie Sky Strategy