Insights and Analysis

Athabasca Byelection Set for February 15th

Today, Premier Scott Moe called a byelection in the Athabasca constituency to replace former NDP MLA Buckley Belanger. The constituency has not had an MLA since the fall when Belanger stepped down to run in the federal election.  

Both the Saskatchewan Party and the NDP have candidates nominated to run in the by-election. The NDP have nominated Georgina Jolibois as their candidate. Jolibois is an experienced politician that resides in LaLoche, bringing experience as a former MP and Mayor of LaLoche. The Saskatchewan Party will be represented by Jim Lemaigre, a former RCMP officer who currently works as a program manager for First Nations and Indigenous Policing. It is rumoured an independent candidate could also be in the running.

The byelection will spark interest in the coming weeks as both parties increase their campaign efforts. Premier Moe said, “Our government will be highlighting our strong record of investment in the north, like the new elementary school in La Loche and our commitment to complete the Saskatchewan side of the Garson Lake road.”

Saskatchewan’s last general election was held on Oct 26th, 2020. The Saskatchewan Party currently has 47 seats, while the NDP have 12, and there is one independent. The NDP are expected to keep the seat, since historically they have been strong in Athabasca. It is still too early in the election cycle to read into the outcome of any byelection as a bellwether for the next general election set for fall 2024. 

Related Links

We’re here to help. 

If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to:

Theo Bryson – Senior Strategy Advisor

Kevin Doherty – Senior Strategy Advisor

June Draude – Senior Strategy Advisor

For more information about Prairie Sky Strategy, please visit our website





Choose the month below:

Recent news

Join Our Mailing List

Get the latest Prairie Politics news, webinar notifications and more.

Follow Us

© 2021 Prairie Sky Strategy