Insights and Analysis

Premier Moe Shuffles Cabinet

Earlier today, Saskatchewan’s Lieutenant-Governor Russ Mirasty swore in new members of Premier Scott Moe’s cabinet. Cabinet remained at 18 members, with 5 switching portfolios:

  • Jim Reiter – Minister of Energy and Resources (most recently SaskBuilds and Procurement)
  • Bronwyn Eyre – Minister of Justice and Attorney General (most recently Energy and Resources)
  • Gordon Wyant – Minister of Advanced Education (most recently Justice and Attorney General)
  • Gene Makowsky – Minister of Social Services (most recently Advanced Education)
  • Lori Carr – Minister of SaskBuilds and Procurement, Minister Responsible for the Public Service Commission, and Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority (most recently Social Services)

Two new MLA’s also joined cabinet:

  • Jeremy Cockrill – MLA for The Battlefords – Minister of Highways (Responsibility for Water Security Agency) – Cockrill is a first term MLA who was elected in late October 2020. Prior to elected office he was involved in managing a business in North Battleford. He also worked in agriculture and agri-food in British Columbia.
  • Dana Skoropad – MLA for Arm River – Minister of Environment – Skoropad is another first term MLA and has a background in agriculture from his experience on the family farm. Prior to elected office, he spent 20 years in the education sector as a teacher, career development consultant and administrator,  and also has experience in the insurance sector as a licensed general insurance agent.

With two new MLA’s joining Cabinet, two left: Warren Kaeding (formerly Environment) and Fred Bradshaw (formerly Highways). The rest of Cabinet stayed the same.
Jeremy Harrison will continue to serve as Government House Leader, with Lori Carr stepping into the Deputy role. Greg Ottenbreit will also continue as the Government Whip with Alana Ross stepping into the Deputy Whip role.

Some changes were also made to the Legislative Secretary ranks:

  • MLA Todd Goudy (Melfort) Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Education
  • MLA Ken Francis (Kindersley) Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Trade and Export Development
  • MLA Terry Dennis (Canora-Pelly) Legislative Secretary Responsible for Saskatchewan – Ukraine Relations
  • MLA Alana Ross (Prince Albert Northcote) Legislative Secretary responsible for forestry to the Minister of Energy and Resources
  • MLA Daryl Harrison (Cannington) Legislative Secretary responsible for value-added agriculture and livestock engagement to the Minister of Agriculture
  • MLA Jim Lemaigre (Athabasca) Legislative Secretary responsible for Mental Health and Addictions to the Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, Seniors and Rural and Remote Health
  • MLA Terry Jenson (Martensville-Warman) Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Social Services
  • MLA Marvin Friesen (Saskatoon Riversdale) Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport

Tim McLeod (Moose Jaw North) was also appointed as the Provincial Secretary to Executive Council.
Of note, a new Sustainable Growth Secretariat will be established in Executive Council under Premier Moe’s oversight. As stated by the Premier: “Not only does Saskatchewan have the food, fuel and fertilizer the world needs but our province is also home to the helium, lithium, copper, zinc, and rare earth minerals that will only be in increasing global demand into the future,”. By establishing this new secretariat one can expect Saskatchewan to lean heavily into those new areas.

Related Links

We’re here to help. 

For information and insights about what this latest development means for Saskatchewan’s political landscape, please contact:

June Draude – Senior Strategy Advisor

Kevin Doherty – Senior Strategy Advisor

Theo Bryson – Senior Strategy Advisor

Tom Lukiwski – Senior Strategy Advisor

To learn more about Prairie Sky Strategy, please visit our website.





Choose the month below:

Recent news

Join Our Mailing List

Get the latest Prairie Politics news, webinar notifications and more.

Follow Us

© 2021 Prairie Sky Strategy