Insights and Analysis

Premier Smith Announces New Cabinet

Premier Danielle Smith announced her new team that will lead the Alberta Government. In addition to the premier, the Cabinet will now consist of 24 ministers, supported by 11 parliamentary secretaries (in non-cabinet roles). That compares with the previous cabinet of the premier, 20 ministers, 5 associate ministers (in cabinet roles), and supported by 6 parliamentary secretaries (in non-cabinet roles).

Premier Smith will also be the Intergovernmental Affairs Minister, as was the case with former Premier Kenney.

Notably, there are two deputy premiers: Kaycee Madu from the riding of Edmonton Southwest, and Nathan Neudorf, MLA from Lethbridge-East. Neudorf was a supporter of Premier Smith during the UCP leadership campaign and has not previously served in cabinet. In addition to being a deputy premier, he will be the Minister of Infrastructure. Madu, also a supporter of Smith’s during the leadership campaign, previously sat in cabinet in Municipal Affairs, Justice, and most recently, Labour and Immigration. Madu will also serve as Minister of Skilled Trades and Professions.

Interestingly, the Premier decided to turn to a group of experienced ministers to take on key portfolios:

  • Travis Toews returns as Finance Minister, a role he held from 2019 election until he stepped down late last spring to run for the UCP leadership
  • Tyler Shandro, Demetrious Nicolaides, Adriana LaGrange, and Rick Wilson stay in their roles as ministers for Justice, Advanced Education, Education, and Indigenous Affairs respectively
  • Rebecca Schulz moves to Municipal Affairs, after previously leading Children’s Services until June when she resigned to campaign for the UCP leadership
  • Sonya Savage shifts from Minister of Energy to Minister of Environment, and
  • Jason Copping stays on as Health Minister.

The new ministers will be officially sworn in next Monday morning and will immediately begin receiving briefings from their departments.

The Cabinet will need to come together quickly, with the UCP annual general meeting taking place this weekend in Edmonton, and the next provincial election now just over 7 months away (May 29, 2023). 


Joining the Premier and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs in cabinet are:

  • Deputy Premier and Minister of Skilled Trades and Professions – Kaycee Madu
  • Deputy Premier and Minister of Infrastructure – Nathan Neudorf
  • President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance – Travis Toews
  • Minister of Jobs, Economy and Northern Development – Brian Jean
  • Minister of Justice – Tyler Shandro
  • Minister of Health – Jason Copping
  • Minister of Energy – Pete Guthrie
  • Minister of Environment and Protected Areas – Sonya Savage
  • Minister of Technology and Innovation – Nate Glubish
  • Minister of Affordability and Utilities – Matt Jones
  • Minister of Municipal Affairs – Rebecca Schulz
  • Minister of Transportation and Economic Corridors – Devin Dreeshen
  • Minister of Public Safety – Mike Ellis
  • Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation – Nate Horner
  • Minister of Forestry, Parks and Tourism – Todd Loewen
  • Minister of Trade, Immigration and Multiculturalism – Rajan Sawhney
  • Minister of Education – Adriana LaGrange
  • Minister of Advanced Education – Demetrios Nicolaides
  • Minister of Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction – Dale Nally
  • Minister of Indigenous Relations – Rick Wilson
  • Minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services – Jeremy Nixon
  • Minister of Children’s Services – Mickey Amery
  • Minister of Mental Health and Addictions – Nicholas Milliken
  • Minister of Culture – Jason Luan

Caucus Leadership Positions

  • Whip (Minister without portfolio) – Brad Rutherford
  • House Leader (Minister without portfolio) – Joseph Schow
  • Deputy House Leaders – Kaycee Madu, Mickey Amery, David Hanson

Parliamentary Secretaries

  • Parliamentary Secretary for Ukrainian Refugee Settlement – Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk
  • Parliamentary Secretary for EMS Reform – RJ Sigurdson
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Rural Health – Tany Yao
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Economic Corridors – Shane Getson
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Tourism – Miranda Rosin
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Agrifood Development – Glenn van Dijken
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Multiculturalism – Devinder Toor
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Status of Women – Tanya Fir
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Community Outreach – Muhammad Yaseen
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Procurement Transformation – David Hanson
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business – Martin Long

Government Committees Chairs

  • Economy and Affordability Cabinet Policy Committee – Jason Nixon
  • Alberta First Cabinet Policy Committee – Garth Rowswell
  • Social Services Cabinet Policy Committee – Searle Turton
  • Building Communities Cabinet Policy Committee – Pat Rehn
  • Legislative Review Committee Chair – Jason Stephan

Treasury Board Members

  • Travis Toews
  • Matt Jones
  • Nate Glubish
  • Rebecca Schulz
  • Devin Dreeshen
  • Jordan Walker
  • Rick Wilson
  • Nathan Neudorf
  • Pete Guthrie

Related Links

We’re here to Help

For more information and insights about what these developments mean for Alberta’s political landscape, please contact:

Rick Fraser – Senior Strategy Advisor

Duane Monea – Senior Strategy Advisor

Jeff Sterzuk – President

Ben Thibault – Senior Strategy Advisor

Richard Truscott – Vice-President

To learn more about Prairie Sky Strategy, please visit our website





Choose the month below:

Recent news

Join Our Mailing List

Get the latest Prairie Politics news, webinar notifications and more.

Follow Us

© 2021 Prairie Sky Strategy