Insights and Analysis

Premier Kenney Shuffles Cabinet

Premier Kenney announced a cabinet shuffle on Tuesday. The moves were expected in light of several sitting ministers (Travis Toews, Rebecca Schulz, and Rajan Sawhney) announcing over the past two weeks they would be stepping down from cabinet to run for the leadership of the governing United Conservative Party (UCP).

The changes to ministerial roles include:

  • Jason Nixon, currently Minister of Environment and Parks and Acting President of Treasury Board/Minister of Finance, drops the former role and takes on the sole function of President of Treasury Board/Minister of Finance.
  • Whitney Issik, currently the Associate Minister of Status of Women, takes over as Minister of Environment and Parks.
  • Matt Jones, MLA for Calgary-South East, becomes Minister of Children’s Services.
  • Prasad Panda, currently the Minister of Infrastructure, becomes Minister of Transportation.
  • Nicholas Milliken, MLA for Calgary-Currie, becomes Minister of Infrastructure.
  • Jackie Armstrong Homeniuk, MLA for Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville, takes on the role of the Associate Minister of Status of Women.
  • Brad Rutherford, MLA for Leduc-Beaumont and Deputy Government Whip, becomes Chief Government Whip and Minister without Portfolio.

The Premier also announced several other key changes:

  • MLAs Tracy Allard, Grande Prairie, and Jackie Lovely, Camrose, were appointed to Treasury Board.
  • Minister of Justice Tyler Shandro was appointed the Chair of the Community and Families Cabinet Policy Committee.
  • Minister of Education Adrianna LaGrange was appointed to the Priorities Implementation Cabinet Committee (PICC).

In making these announcements, the Premier referenced the need to provide “stable and steady government”. Once the next leader of the UCP is selected on October 6th, and therefore becomes premier, that person will be announcing a new cabinet soon after.

We’re Here to Help

For information and insights about what the United Conservative Party leadership vote means for the province’s political landscape, please contact:


Rick Fraser – Senior Strategy Advisor

Duane Monea – Senior Strategy Advisor

Jeff Sterzuk – President

Ben Thibault – Senior Strategy Advisor

Richard Truscott – Vice-President

To learn more about Prairie Sky Strategy, please visit our website





Choose the month below:

Recent news

Join Our Mailing List

Get the latest Prairie Politics news, webinar notifications and more.

Follow Us

© 2021 Prairie Sky Strategy