Insights and Analysis

Alberta Premier Jason Kenney Shuffles Cabinet

This morning, Premier Jason Kenney shuffled his cabinet, welcoming six new cabinet Minister’s and creating a number of Associate Minister roles to support Alberta’s economic recovery. Aside from removing Leela Aheer and Grant Hunter there was minimal movement within Cabinet. Instead, a number of MLAs have been brought into new roles, including splitting Ms. Aheer’s former portfolio into 3 positions, Minister of Culture, Associate Minister of Status of Women and Associate Minister of Immigration and Multiculturalism. Tanya Fir has returned to Cabinet as Minister of Red Tape Reduction, replacing Grant Hunter, almost a year after she was removed in Premier Kenney’s first shuffle in August 2020.

  • Rajan Sawhney, MLA for Calgary-North East and currently the Minister of Community and Social Services, becomes the Minister of Transportation.
  • Tanya Fir, MLA for Calgary-Peigan, becomes Associate Minister of Red Tape Reduction.
  • Nate Horner, MLA for Drumheller-Stettler, becomes Associate Minister of Rural Economic Development, under the Ministry of Jobs, Economy and Innovation.
  • Muhammad Yaseen, MLA for Calgary-North, becomes Associate Minister of Immigration and Multiculturalism, under the Ministry of Labour and Immigration.
  • Whitney Issik, MLA for Calgary-Glenmore, becomes the Associate Minister of Status of Women, under the Ministry of Culture and Status of Women, and the chief government whip.
  • Ron Orr, MLA for Lacombe-Ponoka, becomes the Minister of Culture.
  • Mike Ellis, MLA for Calgary-West and currently the chief government whip, becomes Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions.
  • Jason Luan, MLA for Calgary-Foothills and currently the Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, becomes the Minister of Community and Social Services.

Other non-ministry changes:

  • Joseph Schow, MLA for Cardston-Siksika and currently the deputy government whip, becomes deputy government house leader.
  • Brad Rutherford, MLA for Leduc-Beaumont, becomes deputy government whip.

Premier also announced the appointment of Pam Livingston as chief of staff, with acting chief of staff Larry Kaumeyer returning to his previous role as principal secretary to the Premier. 

Related Link




Choose the month below:

Recent news

Join Our Mailing List

Get the latest Prairie Politics news, webinar notifications and more.

Follow Us

© 2021 Prairie Sky Strategy